Around Town

Solebury Fury U12 boys soccer team clinches third straight championship

Solebury Fury U12 boys soccer team. (Photo: Sue Datin)

Solebury Fury U12 boys soccer team. (Photo: Sue Datin)

By Michael Graeff

The Solebury Fury boys team from Solebury Township and New Hope playing for the Solebury Soccer Club travel program recently completed their third straight championship season this year.

The SSC Fury started the year by winning the U11 SMG Warminster Winter Indoor League, Division 2, with a 7-1 record, sealing the championship with a shutout victory in a final tie-breaking match on Sunday, March 16.

The team went on to win the Rock Spring League, U11 Division B, 8v8 bracket, with a 5-1-1 record by again securing a crucial tie-breaking victory against Philadelphia Soccer Club at their home field in Laurel Park in Solebury in the season finale to take the championship on June 2.

And most recently the SSC Fury won their primary fall season championship in the ICSL (Inter County Soccer League) Division 1, 11v11 with a 9-1 record. This was their first season at the U12 level playing in the 11v11 format after playing the three previous years in the 8v8 format. They clinched the championship with their ninth straight victory in a 1-0 win over Cheltenham Jayvee United on Saturday, Nov. 9.

The SSC Fury has had a winning record in each of its four years of playing fall, winter and spring leagues. The current lineup includes 15 players, with all but four of them having played with the team since its inaugural 2010 season. The team has a well-balanced lineup, with players willingly rotating positions from offense to midfield to defense throughout the season. The team has also benefited from a balanced offense, with every player contributing a goal at some point during the year. SSC Fury is led by Head Coach Ron Viehweger and Assistant Coaches Mike Albano and Michael Graeff.

Players depicted above after the final ICSL game Nov. 16:

Front row, reclining:  Sam Datin (goalie)
Kneeling from L to R:  Dan Rickers, Davis Nagg, Will Albano, Ben Koeppen, Caleb Herring, Robbie Meyer
Back Row, standing or leaning L to R:  Ryan Viehweger, Trey Dusek, Exiel Olivera, Cole Davis, Robert Murphy, Deven Smith, Finn Graeff, Roberto Escamilla Jr.

About the author


Leave a Comment