Published On: Mon, Apr 25th, 2016

New Hope-Solebury High School film festival names winners

film fest (1)

New Hope-Solebury hosts Sabrina Rothschild and Josh Searle present Shaelyn Parker with the Best Actress award.

The New Hope-Solebury High School Film Club named the winners of its second annual student film festival, The Bridge, on April 19 at the Stephen J. Buck Theater.

Student film makers from the Solebury School, New Hope-Solebury High School and Middle Bucks Technical School submitted films for the event.

Best Overall Picture went to Afrah Boateng’s “What it Means to be Biracial” (Solebury School); Best Story went to Alex Babicki for “Dear Mr. Hall” (Solebury School); Best Director went to Anthony Lagana for “The Verses of Gamayun” (New Hope-Solebury); Best Cinematography went to Florencia Minniti for “Blind” (MBIT); Best Actor went to Christopher Cuthrell in “Monochrome World” (Solebury School); Best Actress went to Shaelyn Parker in “The Verses of Gamayun” (New Hope-Solebury); Best Sound went to Eric Luo for “The Verses of Gamayun” (New Hope-Solebury); Best Editing went to Afrah Boateng for “What it Means to be Biracial” (Solebury School); and the Audience Choice Award went to “The Verses of Gamayun” (New Hope-Solebury).

The festival judges were Bob Krist, a New Hope native and freelance photographer who works regularly on assignment for magazines such as National Geographic Traveler, Smithsonian, and Islands; Doug Whipple, chairman of the New Hope Film Festival; Laura Miller, New Hope photojournalist and co-owner of Weddings by Two; and Gina Andreoli, owner of La Regina Films and Studio, and Webby Honoree for her independent film project “Gemini Rising.”

Check online for more information and the most recent photographs of the Bridge Festival.



About the Author'


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>